Osteoarthritis in Pets

Osteoarthritis is a degenerative disorder of the cartilage that causes chronic inflammation and pain. We see signs of it more often in older dogs and cats, but we can also see it in younger patients who are overweight, who suffer from a congenital deformity (hip dysplasia, elbow dysplasia, luxated patella) or who have suffered an injury causing joint instability (ruptured cranial cruciate ligament for example).

The pain caused by osteoarthritis is not always manifested by an obvious limp, very often the symptoms are more subtle. Your dog may be more hesitant to go up and down stairs, or is less excited for his or her walks, or is very stiff whenever he or she gets up from a long nap. For cats, they may have more trouble getting up on the windowsill, or they may stop using the litter box that is all the way downstairs.

Although osteoarthritis is often a condition that comes naturally with age, it is important to note that it causes pain and inflammation and that this pain is treatable, and not just something we accept with age.

There are many different ways to treat osteoarthritis, depending on how severe it is. The therapy can range from weight loss, to oral or injectable chondroprotectants to anti-inflammatory and pain medication. We recommend that you consult a veterinarian to firstly make sure that the problem is osteoarthritis and then to discuss the best way to render your pet the most comfortable he or she can be.

Dr. T. Sweet, veterinarian

L’arthrose chez les animaux de compagnie

L’arthrose est un trouble dégénératif du cartilage qui provoque une inflammation et une douleur chronique. Nous voyons des signes plus souvent chez les chiens et les chats plus âgés, mais nous pouvons également le voir chez des patients plus jeunes en surpoids, qui souffrent d’une malformation congénitale (dysplasie de la hanche, dysplasie du coude, luxation de rotule) ou qui ont subi une blessure articulaire (rupture du ligament croisé crânial par exemple).

La douleur causée par l’arthrose ne se manifeste pas toujours par une boiterie évidente, très souvent les symptômes sont plus subtils. Votre chien peut être plus hésitant à monter et descendre les escaliers, ou est moins excité pour ses promenades, ou est très raide quand il ou elle se lève d’une longue sieste. Pour les chats, ils peuvent avoir plus de difficulté à monter sur le rebord de la fenêtre, ou ils peuvent cesser d’utiliser la litière qui est sur l’étage du bas.

Bien que l’arthrose soit une condition fréquente chez les patients gériatriques, il est important de noter qu’elle cause de la douleur et de l’inflammation et que cette douleur peut être traitée.

Il existe plusieurs façons de traiter l’arthrose, selon sa gravité. La thérapie peut inclure: la perte de poids, les chondroprotecteurs, les anti-inflammatoires et les analgésiques. Nous vous recommandons de consulter un vétérinaire pour d’abord s’assurer que le problème est l’arthrose et ensuite pour discuter de la meilleure façon de rendre votre animal de compagnie le plus comfortable qu’il ou elle peut être.

Dre T. Sweet, vétérinaire